RSS Feed

Trilogy Sensitive Skin

Posted on

When caring for sensitive skin, the fundamental requirement is to avoid contact irritants and to use gentle emollients to protect the fragile natural barrier provided by the skin’s own lipid production.

Trilogy Sensitive Skin range is fragrance and alcohol free, and has been dermatologically tested on sensitive skin. Each product is formulated with pure spring water and plant ingredients chosen for their purity as well as their non-sensitising properties.

These ingredients include :

Chamomile flower, Calendula flower, Marshmallow root and Evening Primrose Oil to soothe, calm and comfort your complexion

Oils of Almond, Avocado and Olive to protect the weakened skin barrier of sensitive skin.

Plant derived Hyaluronic Acid – nature’s ‘moisture magnet’  to firm, plump and hydrate so fine lines and wrinkles are smoothed.

Green Tea to help reduce the visible appearance of fine lines and wrinkles as well as flight free radical damage.

Here’s an article about Catherine De Groot / Trilogy Co-Founder’s interview from trespassmag.com :

Catherine founded Trilogy with her sister, Sarah Gibbs, in 2002 when they fell in love with Rosehip oil and decided to create an entire skin care range around this remarkable ingredient. At that time she was a beauty journalist. They launched Trilogy with just five products including their hero product, Certified Organic Rosehip Oil. Eight years later, the Trilogy range consists of over 40 high performance skin and hair care products and is sold in 10 international markets.

What made you want to get into ‘green’ skincare?

When we launched Trilogy, natural skin care was still using old-fashioned formulas, heady overpowering scents and heavy oily textures. We believed that people wanted to make more natural and ethical choices but didn’t want to sacrifice quality. The opportunity was obvious. We had a wonderful ingredient and a niche market in need of a contemporary makeover. We knew what we wanted to do. Trilogy was born.

What is the philosophy behind Trilogy?

Three words inspired the name of our brand Trilogy – Simple, Pure and Vital. Each Trilogy product contains a simple blend of pure botanical extracts, in unique formulations, which restore the natural vitality and radiance of your skin and hair by working in perfect harmony with them.

Our mission is to produce high performance products with minimal environmental impact

“Maximum effect on your skin, minimum effect on our environment™.”

What is your best ‘greenie’ skin care tip?

Research the company you are buying products from:

a. Do they have integrity?

b. Is the brand up-front with the consumer?

c. Is the brand committed to ethical, cultural and environmental responsibility?

What is your beauty regime?

I like to keep my skin care regime simple. I cleanse, tone and moisturise morning and night, which takes less than five minutes each time, I use an exfoliating treatment twice a week and a masque once a week.

Nowadays my makeup also takes no longer than five minutes. I’m wearing less foundation (which has to be a good thing!), I no longer worry about lip liner and after 23 years, I’ve stopped wearing eye liner. I’ve taken a tip from my makeup artist friend who suggests a simple sweep of a matt eye shadow close to the eyelashes, giving a gentle depth to the eyes without the need for an eye pencil.

What are your top 5 beauty essentials?

Trilogy Certified Organic Rosehip Oil is definitely number one on my list. I massage a few drops into skin on my face and neck before applying my moisturiser. I also often add a few drops to my bath to help soften my skin all over!

I always cleanse morning and night with Trilogy Cream Cleanser which removes all my makeup, even the most stubborn mascara, and I follow this with a nutrient rich natural moisturiser. By day I use our Age Proof Daily Defence Moisturiser with SPF15 to protect my skin from the sun’s harsh rays, and by night I like to use a rich moisturiser such as Trilogy Ultra Hydrating Cream or Age Proof Replenishing Night Cream.

When it comes to cosmetics, the only two I always use are mascara and lipstick.

Those of you who follow my blog would probably know how amused I was when I tried Trilogy’s range; I honestly couldn’t believe something that affordable ( I use La Mer, EL Re-Nutriv, SK II…… ) could be that amazing!

Anyway, I couldn’t wait for my local pharmacy’s stock to arrive and ordered the new sensitive skin range online; I am currently using Very Gentle Cleansing Cream & Very Gentle Calming Fluid, will write my sincere review soon.

Illustration by Carmen Keys.

About LPB

Beauty junkie, Style addict, Fashion victim, Shopaholic anonymous......

Leave a Reply

